All The Pretty Horses…


Lorca & Leatherface
March 9, 2007, 4:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My heart of silk
is filled with lights,
with lost bells,
with lilies and bees.
I will go very far,
farther than those hills,
farther than the seas,
close to the stars,
to beg Christ the Lord
to give back the soul I had
of old, when I was a child,
ripened with legends,
with a feathered cap
and a wooden sword.

Federico Garcia Lorca

There’s a little bit of springtime in the back of my mind
Remembers when there was a time when we danced
And we laughed spent some time drinking wine
And somewhere in there there’s a little child without a thought
Without a doubt that every cloud is silver lined
He is warm and everything is new and everything is clean
And everything is free and there were still so many things to see
So many things so many things left to be very small drop in the
Middle of the big sea of high and mighty things
Your fascination for larger than life your brand new appetite
As though we’d invented it and we danced
There’s a little bit of springtime in the back of my mind
Remembers things perhaps as they should have been
Rather than the lies rather that the cruelty
That sometimes we were guilty of as everybody knows
We were only young and really couldn’t have known
We were very young and though it’s nice to know there’s a place to go
There’s still so many things left to see
Little drop in the middle of the big sea of high and mighty things
Your fascination for larger than life your brand new appetite
And there’s springtime in my mind and I’d rather be alive
As though we’d invented it and we danced
It could have been the longest time and I’ll remember it
You don’t know what’s in store when we laugh

                 Leatherface

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ll vote bobbins for both if that’s what your asking….. this is more like it…..

It was a hot afternoon,
Last day of June,
And the sun was a demon,
The clouds were afraid,
One-ten in the shade,
And the pavement was steaming.
I told Billy-Ray,
In his red Chevrolet,
I needed time for some thinking,
I was just walking by,
When I looked in her eye,
And I swore it was winking.

She was 31 and I was 17,
I knew nothing about love, she knew everything,
When I saw down beside her on the front porch swing,
And wondered what the coming night would bring.

The sun closed her eyes,
As it climbed in the sky,
And it started to swelter,
The sweat trickled down the front of her gown,
And I thought it would melt her.

She through back her hair,
Like I wasn’t there,
And she sipped on a julep,
Her shoulders were bare,
And I tried not to stare,
When I looked at her lips.

And when she looked at me,
I heard her softly say,
I know you’re young,
You don’t know what to do or say,
But stay with me until the sun has gone away,
And I will chase the boy in you away.

And then she smiled and we talked for a while,
And we walked for a mile to the sea,
We sat on the sand, and the boy took her hand,
But I saw the sun rise as a man.

Ten years have gone by,
Since I looked in her eye,
But the memory lingers,
I got back in my mind,
To the very first time,
And feel the touch of her fingers,

It was a hot afternoon,
Last day of June,
And the sun was a demon,
The clouds were afraid,
One-ten in the shade,
And the pavement was steaming…

Comment by eggman

Ah, but have you ever heard the Bubonique version?

Comment by dubversion

jeez – i just listened to it and it’s a bleedin’ shocker. an absolute mess. I’ll stick to the original and best – thankyou very much with your moo moos and bidley widdley fairlight nonsense. sounded like blinking genesis on wheels.

Comment by eggman

Heretic! You’d love their version of Freebird

Comment by dubversion




Leave a Reply

