All The Pretty Horses…


Some Quotes…
April 12, 2007, 10:24 pm
Filed under: Reading

Here we are, trapped in the amber of the moment. There is no why.

Human beings are chimpanzees who get crazy drunk on power. By saying that our leaders are power-drunk chimpanzees, am I in danger of wrecking the morale of our soldiers fighting and dying in the Middle East? Their morale, like so many bodies, is already shot to pieces. They are being treated, as I never was, like toys a rich kid got for Christmas.

We are healthy only to the extent that our ideas are humane. 
(Kilgore Trout’s epitaph)

I’ve just counted about 20 Vonnegut books on my shelves. For all their range – pulp sci-fi, allegory, collections of essays and absurdities, interviews – they all say pretty much the same thing in a variety of fantastic ways.

When I was a kid I really wanted him for my uncle, and now he’s passed, I feel about as sad as I expect I would if an uncle did.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

it was your uncle too?

Comment by olghef




Leave a Reply

